RSS

( OOC) Gaming Outside of WOW

05 Oct

Last night, I made 50 on my second Star Trek character, which gives me two Admirals. Admittedly when the game first came out , I was skeptical..I had my share of free to play games and alot of them fell upon the wayside, failing to keep my attention for more than a week. WOW was still my addiction of choice, so when my hubby told about me Star Trek Online, I didn’t really pay too much attention at first. For one , it was another pay to play, and at the time , I couldn’t see myself paying for another game, especially since I had WOW, but that changed when they offered the option of free to play, which made it a little more enticing. So I tried it out, made a Starfleet character,; an Engineer to be exact but still it didn’t quite grab my attention. It wasn’t until the Romulans came out in May, that I took further notice ,and rolled up a Romulan character.Barely a month later I had my first Admiral,a Romulan Science Officer. So I tried my Engineer again,but compared to the Romulan, the storyline was blah. again ,she was put back on the shelf, while I toyed around with an Orion on the Klingon Side. It wasn’t until recently that I decided to my Engineer again,and for the next two weeks, I played her almost exclusively until finally I got her to max level last night.It was a long journey for the both of us, but was it worth it?!  It was definitely worth it.

Star Trek Online 

Needless to say , Star Trek is not the only game that I have strayed to when I got bored with WOW.Neverwinter, also made by the same company as Star Trek Online, is another fantasy game, set in the Forgotten Realms universe.  Blizzard definitely needs to take note on Neverwinter’s Minimalist UI, and spells. Neverwinter’s spells are lesser in number than WOW’s insane amount, yet do exact same thing without all the peripherals. It has room for five spells but for what you are doing , that’s all you really need.

Neverwinter

The Secret World was a complete  surprise to me; I was never much on the horror genre, but the Secret World takes all the known myths and legends ,spins them on their collective heads  before presenting them in a fresh new way.It  involves three main factions ; the Templar, the Illuminati, and the Dragon. These three juggernauts, pretty much run things in the Secret world, and as a player, you can choose one of the three factions. Each faction has it’s own agenda, and methods that completely different from each other. The game is level less and develop your character through the accumalation of  Action Points ( AP) and Skill points ( SP)  The action points are what you use to gain skills in a certain skill subset which is in turn gained by Skill points. Skills are based on Melee, Magic and Ranged, each having three skill choices to choose from. These skills also have a subset of skills that you choose to further refine your character.This gives you complete freedom , on how you develop your character. For the fashionista, don’t worry.. there are places where you can buy clothing, to outfit your characters as well.. There are locations in the game where you can purchase clothing, as well an ingame store you can buy  specialty clothing for points that you can get from their store. Its well worth getting into.. it’s not just a regular hack and slash, there are some quests, you need to do research on, puzzles to solve,and clues to gather. The Secret World puts a fresh spin on the Horror genre ,and makes it more appealing along with the price point. You buy the game but there no subscription necessary unless you want it. However if you don’t wish to pay a subscription fee, that’s ok , because you can play for free for as long or as little as you wish.

The Secret World

There are other games out there, some good ,others not so good . It all depends on what a person wants to play. Free to play games , now have come along way since they first come out. Some have breathtaking graphics., a far cry from what they looked like before.So its always fun, to see what’s out there, and stumble upon a hidden treasure ever so often.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 5, 2013 in Ramblings

 

Leave a Reply

 
